# EKO IN GOTHENBURG proudly presents: DISTURBANCE - TRIBAL ELEKTRONIX (Release date: 2 dec 2019)

All since the day when the 11-year old version of me was exposed to my first live music experience of Bohus Bataljon (Bohuslan Big Band nowadays). I have been obsessed with drums and rhythms. And I will continue to be until I take my last breath... After 20+years work as a drummer/leader/composer in different bands and projects I have formed this outlet of artistic expression called Disturbance. The first attempt started already in 2006 and resulted in the demo project/record "Manipulated" that never was released. Until now I have to add, you can stream it online from 15 nov 2019 as a kind of teaser for my "real" release.

On this new release "Tribal Elektronix" I have turned myself inside out and used a big part of my instrument collection located in my studio "Eternal Darkness" in Gothenburg. Inviting carefully selected friends has opened up new pathways both for them and myself. I am eternally grateful for their generous contributions to the music and I think you can hear the love and dedication put in from them. The project has had many artistic rules (set up by me) and one important has been that nobody got to prepare themselves, just create to what they heard in the headphones. To capture the fresh and really creative performances. And you know what? I think it turned out really good!

Please enjoy this sweet Disturbance called "Tribal Elektronix" Johan Björklund - Gothenburg, november 2019

Thanks to: Kristofer Göransson, Dona Tarokh, Anders Augustsson, Erik Ivarsson, Anna Bylund, Thomas Gunillasson, Mike Lloyd, Håkan Hellquist, John Lönnmyr, Signe Björklund, Carl Svensson, Henrik Gadelli, Farzaneh Moslehi, Hans Olsson Brookes, Magnus Bergström, Lisen Rylander Löve, Lisa Nordström, Johan Westergren, Christina Ärlestig, Ali Reza Tarokh, Sensus, Ableton Live, Yellofier, The Swedish Arts Grants Committee.

### Musicians:

Johan Björklund - drumset, percussion, african drums, gran cassa, handclaps, kalimba, electric guitar, electric bass, nordlead, korg m1, norddrum, programming, treatments, sampling, voice, growl Thomas Gunillasson - electric guitar, ableton live remix Mike Lloyd - trumpet Dona Tarokh - voice Farzaneh Moslehi - voice Signe Björklund - voice Erik Ivarsson - lap steel Håkan Hellquist - electric guitar Anders Augustsson - electric guitar Anna Bylund - voice John Lönnmyr - fender rhodes Carl Svensson - electric guitar Kristofer Göransson - synth arpeggioator Midaircondo (Lisen Rylander Löve & Lisa Nordström) - sample from live performance. Used with permission from the artists

1 Kuchi 2 Romantetic 3 Doublechecking/Doublecoming 4 Thea 5 Northern Darkness 6 Unite Behind the Science 7 Hello SthIm 8 Refuse the Stolen Voices 9 Guitars Unfackedable 10 Dark Bringer of Eternal Light 11 In Stranger Places 12 Black Speech 13 Signe

All compositions by Johan Björklund

Recorded, edited and pre-mixed by Johan Björklund, Studio Eternal Darkness, Gothenburg January 2018 - August 2019 Mixed by Kristofer Göransson, Studio Zen, Gothenburg, August-September 2019 Mastered by Hans Olsson Brookes, Svenska Grammofonstudion, Gothenburg, October 2019 Press and cover photos by Magnus Bergström Cover painting by Cristina Ärlestig Cover design by Johan Björklund Produced by Johan Björklund.

Made in Sweden

Dedicated to the loving memory of Thommy Larsson (1973-2019)

Press contact / info: Johan Björklund +46 706784275 johan@johanbjorklund.se www.johanbjorklund.se



### Kuchi

Johan Björklund - bass drum, percussion, electric guitar, nordlead, programming, treatments Anna Bylund - voice John Lönnmyr - fender rhodes Carl Svensson - electric guitar

Mike Lloyd - trumpet

## Romantetic

Johan Björklund - percussion, keyboards, programming, treatments, sampling Signe Björklund - voice Carl Svensson - electric guitar Anders Augustsson - electric guitar

### Doublechecking/Doublecoming

Johan Björklund - norddrum, nordlead, korg m1, drums, percussion, treatments Håkan Hellqvist - electric guitar Thomas Gunillasson - electric guitar

#### Thea

Johan Björklund - kaossilator, treatments Erik Ivarsson - lapsteel

#### **Northern Darkness**

Johan Björklund - drums, programming, nordlead, treatments Thomas Gunillasson - electric guitar Erik Ivarsson – lap steel John Lönnmyr - fender rhodes Mike Lloyd - trumpet

### Unite behind the Science

Johan Björklund - percussion, electric bass, ipad, nordlead, treatments John Lönnmyr - fender rhodes Carl Svensson - electric guitar Mike Lloyd - trumpet Dona Tarokh - voice Farzaneh Moslehi - voice

### **Hello Sthim**

Johan Björklund - ipad, percussion, nordlead, programming, voice, treatments the second secon

#### **Refuse the Stolen Voices**

Johan Björklund - bass drum, percussion, handclaps, voice, nordlead, korg m1, programming, treatments Mike Lloyd - trumpet Erik Ivarsson - lap steel Anna Bylund - voice

Guitars Unfackedable Johan Björklund - electric guitar, treatments

### **Dark Bringer of Eternal Light**

Johan Björklund - drums, percussion, nordlead, programming, treatments Thomas Gunillasson - electric guitar Anders Augustsson - electric guitar Mike Lloyd - trumpet Dona Tarokh - voice

### **In Stranger places**

Johan Björklund - electric guitar, bass drum, percussion, voice, treatments Thomas Gunillasson - ableton live remix Mike Lloyd - trumpet

### **Black Speech**

Johan Björklund - drums, nordlead, programming, percussion, handclaps, growl, electric guitar, treatments Kristofer Göransson - syntharpeggio Thomas Gunillasson - electric guitar

### Signe

Johan Björklund - voice, treatments John Lönnmyr - fender rhodes Håkan Hellqvist - electric guitar Mike Lloyd - trumpet